top of page

I am Tyrone James, a 45-year-old man serving a 31- years -to- life prison sentence. I have been incarcerated from the age of16 years. My developing years was spent in and out the prison system, from the age of 12-years old. Currently, I am being held at Shawagunk Correctional Facility in Ulster County New York.


I have evolved over my time spent in prison, discovering I possess a strong passion for public speaking. My focus is on advocating for prison and human rights. My varied experiences that prison life has afforded me, strengthens my dedication. So, it has served as a platform for personal development and I look forward to contributing my experiences to help rebuild communities devastated from underdeveloped youth, upon my eventual release. Engage partner organizations that can provide resources to prepare youth for the 21st Century economy, especially those who demonstrate leadership potential.


Education is a cornerstone in my life despite the challenges. I have obtained a General Equivalency Diploma, which has enabled me to enter into Hudson Link's prison-based college program where I am pursuing an Associates Degree. In addition, I have successfully completed and received certification for participation in mandated programs including Health Awareness, Anger Management, Parenting and Healthy Relationships, and Fatherhood courses. I've obtained certification in Vocational Programs that have endowed me with skills whereby I'm able to be gainfully employed in areas such as Carpentry, Masonry, Architecture/Drafting and Design and Appliance Repair.


I am committed to practicing my faith as a devout Muslim. In my capacity, I teach enrichment classes and am engaged in leading weekly religious services.

bottom of page